Government  >  Departments  >  North Bengal Development
Department Logo  North Bengal Development

A landmark decision of the present Government, which took charge on 20.05.2011, was to create an exclusive Department for the comprehensive development of the eight (previously six) northern districts of West Bengal. Accordingly, the North Bengal Development Department came into being on 08.07.2011. The second landmark decision was the creation and setting up of a Branch Secretariat at Dabgram-Fulbari, Jalpaiguri district, very near to Siliguri. This was a step to bring the administration closer to the people of North Bengal. 

The North Bengal Development Department caters, approximately, to the needs of 22% population residing in 24% of the total area of West Bengal comprising of eight (8) districts, i.e., Cooch Behar, Alipurduar, Jalpaiguri, Darjeeling,Kalimpong,Uttar Dinajpur, DakshinDinajpur and Malda. The thrust area for developmental works differs from district to district because of the diversities and disparities within the districts of North Bengal. For example, Cooch Behar is one of the most riverine districts of the region. Similarly, about 18% of the area of Jalpaiguri and Darjeeling districts is covered by forests and both districts are dotted with numerous Tea Gardens. Kalimpong is also heavily forested. The rapidly urbanizing foothills of Darjeeling, encompassing the entire Siliguri Sub-Division and a part of Jalpaiguri district presents many challenges. The other three districts, i.e., Uttar Dinajpur, DakshinDinajpur andMalda are largely agricultural. Malda is affected every year by riverine erosion. Due consideration has to be accorded to the diverse characteristics of all the districts while preparing the annual action plan of the Department.

The State Plan outlay of North Bengal Development Department consists of following components:

  1. Other Special Area Programme (State Plan & under WBCETF)
  2. Special Component Plan for Scheduled Caste (State Plan & under WBCETF)
  3. Special Component Plan for Scheduled Tribe (State Plan & under WBCETF)
  4. Capital Outlay on other Special Area Programme (RIDF)
  5. Capital Outlay on Special Component Plan for Scheduled Caste (SP)
  6. Capital Outlay on Special Component Plan for Scheduled Tribe (SP)

Following were the Budgetary Allocations of the North Bengal Development Department, under Plan Head, during the preceding Financial Years and including the current Financial Year:

Financial Year Amount (Rs.)
2011-12 182,00,00,000.00
2012-13 230,00,00,000.00
2013-14 241,00,00,000.00
2014-15 375,00,00,000.00
2015-16 450,00,00,000.00
2016-17 492,00,00,000.00

Consequently, upon the formation of North Bengal Development Department entire works of Uttar BangaUnnayanParshad have been taken over by the Department.


Sri Udayan Guha

Address: Mitra Building (4th Floor), 8 Lyons Range, Kolkata - 700 001
Phone: 2230-5482
Fax: 2230-0015


Smt. Yeasmin Sabina

Address: Mitra Building (4th Floor),
8 Lyons Range,
Kolkata - 700 001
Phone: 2230-5482

Principal Secretary (Additional Charge)

Sri Dushyant Nariala, I.A.S

Address: Mitra Building (4th Floor),
8 Lyons Range,
Kolkata - 700 001
Phone: 22305777
Fax: 2230-0015

Nodal Officer

Smt. Manirupa Bhattacharjya, Joint Secretary

Address: Mitra Building (4th Floor),
8 Lyons Range, Kolkata - 700001
Phone: 2262-7380
Fax: 2230-1346

Last updated on: Sunday, 31 December 2023
Information Source: Department of North Bengal Development, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2022, All Rights Reserved.