Government  >  Departments  >  School Education
Department Logo  School Education
Department Image

The School Education Department is responsible for implementation of West Bengal government's vision and mission in primary, secondary and higher secondary education. The department as the nodal body has nine distinct entities which look after various aspects of school education for the state. Some of the entities have specific tasks like conducting examination, text book/curriculum preparation (boards and councils), inspection (inspectorate), recruitment of teachers/staff (service commission), execution of projects and schemes (project office), preparation of teaching/training/research material (state council of education and research). All the entities also have the regular budgeting, auditing, recognition/affiliation/up-gradation of schools, legal affairs and other employee related HR activities.


Sri Bratya Basu

Address: BikashBhavan, 5th Floor,
Salt Lake, Kolkata -700091
Phone: 2334-2256
Fax: 2337-6783


Sri Satyajit Barman

Address: BikashBhavan, 5th Floor,
Salt Lake, Kolkata -700091

Principal Secretary

Sri Manish Jain, I.A.S

Address: BikashBhavan, 6th Floor,
Salt Lake, Kolkata 700 091
Phone: 2334-2228
Fax: 2337-6561

Nodal Officer

Sri Susanta Adhikari, Joint Secretary

Address: BikashBhavan,
Salt Lake, Kolkata-700091
Phone: 2334-2228
Fax: 2337-6561

Last updated on: Sunday, 31 December 2023
Information Source: Department of School Education, Government of West Bengal
  • West Bengal Electronics Industry Development Corporation Limited
  • Bengal Global Summit
  • West Bengal Map
  • National Portal of India
  • e-Governance Portal

Disclaimer: Site Contents owned, designed, developed, maintained and updated by the Information & Cultural Affairs Department, Government of West Bengal.

Official Site of Government of West Bengal, India | Copyright 2022, All Rights Reserved.